Adrian Sutil 2013 Malaysia FP1

Formula One: Sutil takes Sauber seat after Force India rejection

Adrian Sutil has signed to race for the Sauber F1 team in next seasons Formula One world championship. The news follows after Adrian was confirmed to be out of a drive yesterday following Force India’s decision to sign Hulkenburg and Perez.

Sutil said he had “known for a while where I wanted to go” but “the negotiations took a bit longer than planned”.

“I am determined to do my part in order to have a successful future together with the Sauber F1 Team. The long and successful tradition in motorsport, combined with an impressive factory and one of the best wind tunnels in F1, have been fascinating me for a long time.”

Team principal Monisha Kaltenborn said Sauber “have been wanting to work together with him for a while”.

“Adrian had already visited the factory at the end of September to have a look at the infrastructure. Adrian is not only very fast, but also brings a lot of experience, which is very important looking at the new regulations for next year.”

Sutil made his F1 debut in 2007 with Spyker, which became Force India the following year, and remained with them ever since. He spent the 2012 season on the sidelines then returned to action this year.

Sauber have already lost Nico Hulkenburg to Force India and it remains to be seen whether Esteban Gutierrez will continue with them next year.

The team said that they will announce their 2nd driver at a later date, with Sergey Sirotkin set to get the seat if he can get his super license.

Only 4 seats remain on the grid, with the aforementioned seat at Sauber, 2 seats at Caterham and a seat at Marussia alongside Jules Bianchi.

A number of drivers are fighting for seats still, with Di Resta, Gutierrez, Chilton, Pic, Van Der Garde and Kovalainen among the list of drivers who have raced at some point this year who have yet to have confirmed a drive for next season.

Only one team have kept the same line-up that they raced with this season, that team being Mercedes, who have retained Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. Every other team has at least one different driver.

By Jordan Groves
Formula 1 correspondent for RTR Sports Marketing
Follow Jordan on twitter at

Leave a Reply