In Sport News, Sport Sponsorship, Sports Marketing

Formula E: Race winner Di Grassi disqualified from Berlin ePrix, RTR SportsIn a shocking turn of events, Audi Sport ABT driver Lucas Di Grassi has been excluded from the results of the Berlin ePrix; the race where he took a dominant victory yesterday. The Brazilian had won the race by 8 seconds ahead of Jerome D’Ambrosio; who was subsequently promoted to 1st place.

FIA Scrutineers found after the race that Di Grassi’s car didn’t comply with the regulations regarding front wings. The front wing was found to have illegal internal metal reinforcing rods as well as sealed holes in the wing that there shouldn’t have been. Audi Sport ABT considered putting in an appeal against the decision, as they felt that there was no competitive advantage with the new wing and that the changes were made as a result of repairs. However, the team decided not to appeal ‘on the grounds of sportsmanship’.

The disqualification moves Lucas down from the race win to 20th place; meaning that his 25 championship points he gained are also wiped out. This also means that title rival Nelson Piquet Jr. now has the championship lead by 2 points ahead of Buemi, with Di Grassi now a further 8 points behind. Dragon Racing driver Jerome D’Ambrosio now inherits the race victory, his and the team’s first this year. It also moves his team-mate Loic Duval up into the top 3 behind Sebastien Buemi.

Lucas Di Grassi later tweeted, “They are trying to make me win this Championship in the hard mode. Don’t worry, we will be back to kick some Piquet and Buemi ass ON TRACK…” which insinuated that Di Grassi felt that the disqualification was unjust. newly promoted 2nd place finisher Buemi replied, “You deserved the win man! But don’t forget the bad luck the others had as well…”

2015 Berlin ePrix amended results:

POS Driver Team Points Grid
1 Jerome D’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 25 6th
2 Sebastien Buemi (FB) e.dams Renault 18 3rd
3 Loic Duval Dragon Racing 15 8th
4 Nelson Piquet Jr. (FL) (FB) NEXTEV China Racing 14 13th
5 Nick Heidfeld Venturi 10 4th
6 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 8 9th
7 Jean-Eric Vergne Andretti Autosport 6 10th
8 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 4 15h
9 Vitantonio Liuzzi Trulli 2 11th
10 Nicolas Prost e.dams Renault 1 7th
11 Antonio Felix da Costa Amlin Aguri 0 19th
12 Jaime Alguersauri Virgin Racing 0 14th
13 Scott Speed Andretti Autosport 0 12th
14 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 0 5th
15 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing 0 20th
16 Charles Pic (FB) NEXTEV China Racing 0 17th
17 Salvador Duran Amlin Aguri 0 16th
18 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing 0 18th
19 Jarno Trulli (P) Trulli 3 1st
20 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 0 2nd


Can we help you sign your best sponsorship deal?

Emanuele Venturoli
Emanuele Venturoli
A graduate in Public, Social and Political Communication from the University of Bologna, he has always been passionate about marketing, design and sport.
Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment

Formula One: Hamilton takes Mercedes’ 4th consecutive Monaco pole
Formula E: Justin Wilson to race for Andretti in Russian ePrix