In Formula1, Sport News, Sport Sponsorship, Sports Marketing

Embedded image permalinkFormula One’s governing body, the FIA, published the 2014 entry list for the upcoming season of racing. The list confirmed every driver announced so far, along with their chosen personal race number’s following a rule change for this season.

The entry list also confirmed that Max Chilton would be driving for Marussia, a day before the official announcement by the team.

Each driver was invited by the FIA to state his preferred race number, with the driver who finished higher in the 2013 standings being favored if the same number was requested more than once. The only drivers to have not had their number confirmed are Max Chilton and the Caterham drivers (as they have not been confirmed yet.)

It is important to note that Sebastian Vettel has two race numbers, as he will use #1 this season as he is the champion, but will use the #5 if/when he is not the champion. This is the number that he won his first championship with in 2010 and the number he used in Karting.

Here is the full entry list with the driver’s race numbers also listed:

Race # Driver NAT Team Engine
1 & 5 Sebastian Vettel DEU Infiniti Red Bull Racing Renault
3 Daniel Ricciardo AUS Infiniti Red Bull Racing Renault
44 Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Mercedes
6 Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Mercedes
14 Fernando Alonso ESP Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari
7 Kimi Raikkonen FIN Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari
8 Romain Grosjean FRA Lotus F1 Team Renault
13 Pastor Maldonado VEN Lotus F1 Team Renault
22 Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes Mercedes
20 Kevin Magnussen DEN McLaren Mercedes Mercedes
27 Nico Hulkenburg DEU Sahara Force India F1 Team Mercedes
11 Sergio Perez MEX Sahara Force India F1 Team Mercedes
99 Adrian Sutil DEU Sauber F1 Team Ferrari
21 Esteban Gutierrez MEX Sauber F1 Team Ferrari
25 Jean-Eric Vergne FRA Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault
26 Daniil Kvyat RUS Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault
19 Felipe Massa BRA Williams Team F1 Mercedes
77 Valtteri Bottas FIN Williams Team F1 Mercedes
17 Jules Bianchi FRA Marussia F1 Team Ferrari
TBA Max Chilton GBR Marussia F1 Team Ferrari
TBA TBA TBA Caterham F1 Team Renault
TBA TBA TBA Caterham F1 Team Renault

Several drivers have spoken about the reasons why they chose the numbers that they did.

A number of drivers picked their numbers based on the fact that they had used it in the early days of their racing careers. Fernando Alonso is one of them, who picked the #14 after winning the world karting championship with that number when he was 14 years old on the 14th day of that month. Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton also picked numbers based on Karting.

Nico Rosberg picked #6 based on the fact that his father used that number on his way to the 1982 F1 championship. Jenson Button picked #22 as that was the number that he won his F1 title with in 2009. It is unknown as to why Pastor Maldonado chose #13, a number previously unused in Formula One for superstitious reasons, but he and the other drivers on the grid will be hoping it isn’t an omen.

Kimi Raikkonen also had a reason for picking #7. He said that it is the number he raced with last season and he saw no need to change it.

By Jordan Groves
Formula 1 correspondent for RTR Sports Marketing
Follow Jordan on twitter at
Can we help you sign your best sponsorship deal?

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment

Nike introduces "Silvers Speed" Superbowl XLVIII Collection
MotoGP: New Ducati Desmosedici Gp14 Gallery