In Formula1, Sport News, Sport Sponsorship, Sports Marketing

Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, Albert Park, 2014Daniel Ricciardo has been disqualified from the Australian Grand Prix, a race in which he secured his first podium in Formula One in his first race for Red Bull at his home Grand Prix in Melbourne.

The car failed it’s technical inspection after the race after it was found that the RB10 exceeded the maximum amount of fuel allowed to be consumed during the race.

The limit on peak fuel consumption is 100kg per hour, a new rule introduced for the 2014 season. The stewards confirmed Ricciardo’s exclusion from the race results after more than five hours of deliberation.

Red Bull immediately announced their attention to appeal and released the following statement:

“Following the decision of the FIA that Infiniti Red Bull Racing is in breach of Article 3.2 of the FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations and Article 5.1.4 of the FIA Formula One Technical Regulations with car three, the team has notified the FIA of its intention to appeal with immediate effect.

“Inconsistencies with the FIA fuel flow meter have been prevalent all weekend up and down the pit lane. The team and Renault are confident the fuel supplied to the engine is in full compliance with the regulations.”

Ricciardo’s exclusion means that Kevin Magnussen moves up to second place in the race and therefore sets the record for the highest position achieved by a rookie driver in his first Grand Prix. Team-mate Jenson Button moves into third and increases McLaren’s lead in the constructors championship by 3 points. In contrast, Red Bull are now last in the constructors championship with Sebastian Vettel having retired from the race.

2014 Australian Grand Prix final results:

POS Driver Team Points Grid
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 25 3
2 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 18 4
3 Jenson Button McLaren 15 10
4 Fernando Alonso McLaren 12 5
5 Valtteri Bottas Williams 10 15
6 Nico Hulkenburg Force India 8 7
7 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 6 11
8 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 4 6
9 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 2 8
10 Sergio Perez Force India 1 16
11 Adrian Sutil Sauber 0 13
12 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber +1 Lap 20
13 Max Chilton Marussia +2 Laps 17
14 Jules Bianchi Marussia +8 Laps 18
15 Romain Grosjean Lotus Retired 22
16 Pastor Maldonado Lotus Retired 21
17 Marcus Ericsson Caterham Retired 19
18 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Retired 12
19 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Retired 1
20 Felipe Massa Williams Retired 9
21 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham Retired 14
22 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Disqualified 2
By Jordan Groves
Formula 1 correspondent for RTR Sports Marketing - Sport Sponsorship Agency


Can we help you sign your best sponsorship deal?

Emanuele Venturoli
Emanuele Venturoli
A graduate in Public, Social and Political Communication from the University of Bologna, he has always been passionate about marketing, design and sport.
Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment

Formula One: Hamilton on pole ahead of home hero Ricciardo!
Transforming Formula One: 2014 Rules Explained (Red Bull full version)