In Motor Racing


Honda secures 2017 Constructor Title in Malaysia, Rider Title to be decided in Valencia

In typical Malaysian fashion, the sun that had shone until half an hour before the start of the MotoGP race was replaced by a sudden heavy thunderstorm that did not last long but left the track completely soaked.

Sepang Gp: Marquez

, and when he realized that he could not match the pace of the three frontrunners, he settled for fourth place which, combined with the achievements of Dani Pedrosa and Cal Crutchlow this season, earned Honda the 2017 MotoGP Constructor title. It was the manufacturer’s 23rd such crown in history, and the sixth out of the last seven seasons.

With Dovizioso winning the race in front of Jorge Lorenzo and Johan Zarco, Marc will arrive at the season finale in Valencia leading the standings by 21 points over the Italian.

Pedrosa, who had been the fastest rider in Saturday’s dry conditions, wasn’t the happiest man when the rain started to fall, but a completely different setup prepared by his team, and the decision to use a soft rear tyre, allowed him to keep a decent pace and take fifth place, just behind his teammate.

Sepang GP Race Results

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Time/Gap
1 DOVIZIOSO Andrea 4 ITA 25 Ducati Team 44’51.497
2 LORENZO Jorge 99 SPA 20 Ducati Team 0.743
3 ZARCO Johann 5 FRA 16 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 9.738
4 MARQUEZ Marc 93 SPA 13 Repsol Honda Team 17.763
5 PEDROSA Dani 26 SPA 11 Repsol Honda Team 29.144
6 PETRUCCI Danilo 9 ITA 10 Octo Pramac Racing 30.380
7 ROSSI Valentino 46 ITA 9 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 30.769
8 MILLER Jack 43 AUS 8 EG 0,0 Marc VDS 35.238
9 VINALES Maverick 25 SPA 7 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 38.053
10 ESPARGARO Pol 44 SPA 6 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 39.847
11 BAUTISTA Alvaro 19 SPA 5 Pull&Bear Aspar Team 42.559
12 SMITH Bradley 38 GBR 4 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 44.602
13 REDDING Scott 45 GBR 3 Octo Pramac Racing 48.696
14 BARBERA Hector 8 SPA 2 Reale Avintia Racing 50.058
15 CRUTCHLOW Cal 35 GBR 1 LCR Honda 50.705
16 VAN DER MARK Michael 60 NDL 0 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 56.397
17 IANNONE Andrea 29 ITA 0 Team Suzuki Ecstar 58.391
18 RABAT Tito 53 SPA 0 EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1’25.571
19 LOWES Sam 22 GBR 0 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 11 laps
20 ABRAHAM Karel 17 CZE 0 Pull&Bear Aspar Team 12 laps
21 BAZ Loris 76 FRA 0 Reale Avintia Racing 15 laps
22 RINS Alex 42 SPA 0 Team Suzuki Ecstar


Can we help you sign your best sponsorship deal?

Emanuele Venturoli
Emanuele Venturoli
A graduate in Public, Social and Political Communication from the University of Bologna, he has always been passionate about marketing, design and sport.
Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Marquez takes victory at the Australian Grand Prix
Marc Marquez wins 2017 MotoGP World Championship